Blogs

Exploration (and Savagery) by Nick

I just watched Nicholas Refn’s film Valhalla Rising . I’m not quite sure what I think about it other than it seemed to be a maniacal meditation on violence and savagery. A hallucination of hellish visions and hellish men performing hellish deeds. And yet, I do not believe this disqualifies it as objectionable or that it can only be enjoyed by those with questionable tastes, or, well, psychopaths.

I want to write a letter to my Congressmen, both in Oklahoma City and D.C. How can I find out who represents my area?

You can find your elected Congressional officials, on the state and federal levels, through the library's Government Documents, or Gov Docs, pages. You can find the Gov Docs collection by going to the Research & Learn drop down menu and selecting Government. Once there, select ‘Government Frequently Asked Questions'.

Leaving (and Returning) Home by Rebecca

One of my favorite novelists is Louise Erdrich. I love the way she writes about families—with unflinching honesty, but also with empathy and sensitivity. In her novels, despair exists alongside hope, and even the most broken characters are always three-dimensional. In Jean’s Thompson new book The Year We Left Home, I’ve found the closest read-alike to Louise Erdrich, yet.

Gritty suspense as a Jumpstart

I imagine it must take some training, and discipline, to become a professional art critic. Namely, a book reviewer. Aside from having an almost comprehensive knowledge base of literary art, one must exercise some semblance of professional distance from the work. It would be easy to give high marks to any work that moved you in a personal way, but it must also be important to award prestige to works that excel in their craft even if one personally disagreed with it. In a very roundabout way, I’d like compare this critics’ dilemma to becoming burnt out on fiction.

Are you planning on going to college? The library has resources to help!

Whether you're a high school student making plans for after graduation or an adult wanting to go back to school, the library can help you with the process of getting into college. Our Education Guide, found on the Research tab of the library's home page, has a number of resources that can be found in the College Bound menu on the left side of the page. Some of the topics covered are:

Pages