Award Programs

2015 Peggy V. Helmerich Award

Tulsa City-County Library offers programs that bring to Tulsa internationally and nationally acclaimed authors, and individuals who represent the diversity of the community. The programs are funded by the Tulsa Library Trust through donations from local foundations, corporations and individuals.

American Indian Writers Award
The award recognizes the written contributions of outstanding American Indian authors, poets, journalists, film and stage scriptwriters.

Anne V. Zarrow Award for Young Readers’ Literature
The award recognizes nationally acclaimed authors who have made a significant contribution to the field of literature for children and young adults.

Books to Treasure
This program is a special partnership between the Tulsa City-County Library and all Tulsa County elementary schools aimed at celebrating the beauty and power of children’s literature.

Circle of Honor
The Circle of Honor ceremony honors an American Indian for their achievements and contributions that have enriched the lives of others.  Induction into the Circle of Honor is a celebration of the honoree’s actions in the face of adversity, commitment to the preservation of American Indian culture and legacy for future generations.

Marcus R. Tower Service Award
The award recognizes and shows appreciation to a Tulsa County resident who has made a notable contribution to enhance the quality of library service for the Tulsa City-County Library.

Peggy V. Helmerich Distinguished Author Award
The award recognizes internationally acclaimed authors who have written a distinguished body of work and made a major contribution to the field of literature and letters.

Sankofa Freedom Award
The award recognizes a nationally prominent author whose life’s work positively addresses the range and complexity of cultural, economic and political issues affecting the greater African-American community.