## Historical Timeline of the Five Civilized Tribes

- 1803 Oklahoma was a part of Louisiana Purchase
- 1808-1817 Negotiations result in some Cherokee migration to Arkansas settling between Arkansas and White Rivers
- 1824 Ft. Gibson established
  Plays an important role in tribal history in Indian Territory
- 1830 Removal act authorizes creation of Indian Territory; tribes began removal culminating with the Trail of Tears in 1838/1839
- 1840's-1860 Tribes prosper in Indian Territory
- 1860 US Army stationed at Ft. Gibson leaves Indian Territory as beginning of war approaches
- 1861 Tribes "courted" by representatives of Confederacy to gain their support
- 1866 New treaties with US after tribes support Confederacy
- 1870's Railroads come to Indian Territory
- 1872 Western Arkansas District Court established at Fort Smith with jurisdiction over Indian Territory
- 1880's Boomer movement pressures government to open land for settlement in Indian Territory
- 1887 Dawes General Allotment Act forms reservations in Oklahoma Territory (Act does not include lands in Indian Territory)
- 1889 Unassigned Land Run
- 1890 Organic Act establishes Oklahoma Territory
- 1893 Opening of the Cherokee Outlet

Congress forms Dawes Commission to allot land in Indian Territory

- 1895 Congress orders land survey of Indian Territory
- 1896 Dawes Commission attempts to gain tribal cooperation without success
- 1898 Curtis Act gives authority to Dawes Commission to allot lands without the tribal nations' consent
- 1898-1906 Final Enrollment (Dawes Rolls) and allotment of land

November 16, 1907 Oklahoma statehood day