2017 Fact Sheet


The Award for Young Readers' Literature was inaugurated in 1991 and is given annually by the Tulsa Library Trust. In 1992, it was permanently named in honor of Anne V. Zarrow. Its purpose is to give formal recognition, on behalf of the Tulsa County community, to nationally acclaimed authors who have made a significant contribution to the field of literature for children and young adults.

The award consists of a $7,500 cash prize and an engraved crystal book.

Past winners are: Gordon Korman (2016), Sharon Draper (2015), Jack Gantos (2014), Jim Murphy (2013), Jacqueline Woodson (2012), Kathryn Lasky (2011), Phyllis Reynolds Naylor (2010), Christopher Paul Curtis (2009), Louis Sachar (2008), Kate DiCamillo (2007), Sharon Creech (2006), Avi (2005), Susan Cooper (2004), Russell Freedman (2003), Richard Peck (2002), E.L. Konigsburg (2001), Jerry Spinelli (2000), Jane Yolen (1999), Cynthia Voigt (1998), Gary Paulsen (1997), Walter Dean Myers (1996), Lois Lowry (1994), Katherine Paterson (1993), Madeleine L'Engle (1992) and S.E. Hinton (1991).


Laurie Halse Anderson is the winner of the 2017 Anne V. Zarrow Award for Young Readers’ Literature.


Friday, May 5 – 7 p.m., Hardesty Regional Library, Connor’s Cove, 8316 E. 93rd St.

Zarrow Award and Young People’s Creative Writing Contest Awards Presentation

Anderson will receive the Zarrow award, and speak about her life and works.  She also will present awards to the winners of the 2017 Young People’s Creative Writing Contest at the ceremony.  Following questions from the audience, she will sign copies of her books.  This program is free and open to the public.


The award is a program of the Tulsa City-County Library, made possible through the Tulsa Library Trust by a grant from the Anne and Henry Zarrow Foundation.


Anderson is being recognized for writing more than 18 books of fiction and nonfiction for “children of all ages” that address life’s challenges with honesty, humor and sensitivity.

Speak, her first young adult novel published in 1999, won the Edgar Allen Poe Award and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and was a finalist for the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature.  Actress Kristen Stewart starred in the film of the same name in 2005, which premiered at the Sundance Film Festival.  Anderson has a cameo in the film as the lunch lady.

Chains, a book in her trilogy of the American Revolution, was awarded the 2009 Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction and chosen as a 2008 National Book Award finalist. Forge and Ashes complete the Seeds of America trilogy.

Wintergirls was selected as an American Library Association Best Books for Young Adults.  Readers and reviewers welcomed its honest portrayal of anorexia.

For her 2013 book, The Impossible Knife of Memory, Anderson details the challenges of post-traumatic stress disorder and the long-term effects it can have on a family.

The American Library Association presented her with the Margaret A. Edwards Award in 2009.  This award recognizes an author for their lasting achievements in young adult literature. 


  • To encourage children and teens to read and write by promoting the prize, and the author’s books and visit, throughout the library’s summer reading program and the Young People’s Creative Writing Contest.
  • To introduce children and teens to favorite authors of literary distinction and present famous authors as real people and role models.
  • To provide a major event that brings families into the library and is a rallying point for the Summer Reading Program.
  • To give young readers the opportunity to learn from a successful author's writing experiences.


The Tulsa Library Trust is a public charity created by private contributions to benefit Tulsa City-County Library. Income generated by the Trust's endowment is used to fund projects and purchase materials that the library could not afford through its operating budget.