Find Your Next Favorite Book

The staff at Tulsa City-County Library are avid readers and are a great resource when you aren't sure what to read next.  Here are some recommendations without even having to ask! 

Content
I loved Rachel Joyce's last book "The Music Shop" and have been waiting for this one to come out. I was not disappointed! With quirky, well-developed characters, Joyce's mismatched pair of female would-be adventurers is a delight from start to finish.
Image
Carissa - Hardesty Regional Library
Carissa
Jenks Library
What’s better than baby pandas? MORE baby pandas! A quality nonfiction book about caring for a bunch of these adorable babies!
Image
Tori - Glenpool Library
Tori
Glenpool Library
A contemporary fantasy in the vein of Neil Gaiman and Terry Prachet. A delightfully heartwarming tale about chosen families and the individual differences that strengthen a community.
Image
Becky - Hardesty Regional Library
Becky
Hardesty Regional Library
I know I'm not alone when I say that as a child, I was told I didn't understand often. This book reminded me that children understand more than they are given credit for.
Image
Angela - Hardesty Regional Library
Angela
Central Library
A Depression-era story about five women who become horseback librarians in rural Kentucky. Strong female characters in a story about relationships and forming friendships, with some drama and little romance, too. A Reese's Book Club pick.
Image
Tessa - Hardesty Regional Library
Tessa
Hardesty Regional Library
This book, with its engaging, colorful and realistically drawn characters will be a great introduction to discussion about the 1921 Race Massacre.
Image
Alicia - Rudisill Regional Library
Alicia
Rudisill Regional Library
A beautifully told family saga that spans time and geography to explore the ripple effects of war on our most important relationships.
Image
Rebecca - Martin Regional Library
Rebecca
Martin Regional Library
Four art nerds navigate high school, friendship, romance, the fear of mass violence, and the difference between public art and guerilla art in this omnibus of the beloved naughts comic.
Image
Johanna - Central Library
Johanna
Central Library
Helium is abundant, colorless, odorless, and tasteless. Rudy Francisco's Helium is ridiculously accurate for most situations. He deals with love, heartbreak, self-reflection, depression, anxiety, race(ism), abuse, forgiveness, and acceptance.
Image
Angela - Hardesty Regional Library
Angela
Central Library
Dad's late returning from the store with milk for his kids' cereal. Why? Well, he certainly wasn't diverted by aliens, dinosaurs, or pirates on his way home...right?
Image
Jannell - Herman and Kate Kaiser Library
Jannell
Herman and Kate Kaiser Library
This landmark album of ephemera relating to the Black experience over the last five hundred years was the publishing project Toni Morrison was proudest of—and where she found the germ of Beloved.
Image
Johanna - Central Library
Johanna
Central Library
Manuela is hiding in Miami from her father's Argentinian crime family AND ICE. When her mother is arrested by ICE she follows a guy to a camp in the Everglades full of people like her. Except she's not legal here either.
Image
Adrienne - Rudisill Regional Library
Adrienne
Rudisill Regional Library
Readers who enjoy modernist and postmodernist literature, Pynchon, Gaddis Wallace, and are gluttons for the unique punishment of reading difficult doorstop novels will LOVE this book.
Image
Nick - Central Library
Nick
Central Library
I remember the magic I felt when getting mail as a child. Seeing my name on paper, written by someone else, made me feel important.
Image
Angela - Hardesty Regional Library
Angela
Zarrow Regional Library
This historical novel confronts hard subjects like identity, tribal sovereignty, and historical as well as lifespan trauma. Nevertheless the characters surpass barriers to work their way into your heart because they are people you have known and loved.
Image
Jannell - Technical Services
Christia
Technical Services
A Viking-inspired fantasy with a fierce, determined, and clever heroine. This is a fast read with a villainous twist I did not expect.
Image
Jannell - Herman and Kate Kaiser Library
Jannell
Herman and Kate Kaiser Library
Imagine Jaws but with creepy deep-sea mermaids instead of sharks! Monster movie fans will love the horror elements, while marine biology enthusiasts will love the science.
Image
Tori - Glenpool Library
Tori
Glenpool Library
After a terrible accident, Kane wakes up with his memories erased and a mystery to solve without them. Not sure who to trust or where to find answers, he stumbles headfirst into a dream world and he's the only one who can unravel it - whatever that means!
Image
Julia - Hardesty Regional Library
Julia
Hardesty Regional Library
This awkward romance, heavy on the awkward, was a steady flow of full-hearted sighs and audible laughter.
Image
Angela - Hardesty Regional Library
Angela
Zarrow Regional Library
Margot is the only survivor of an accident that kills her family, and struggles with nightmares. After a stay at a group home, she gets a foster placement at a country house where she is to be the companion. But something is very weird about this house.
Image
Adrienne - Rudisill Regional Library
Adrienne
Rudisill Regional Library