Find Your Next Favorite Book

The staff at Tulsa City-County Library are avid readers and are a great resource when you aren't sure what to read next.  Here are some recommendations without even having to ask! 

Content
The story of young Kvothe, as told by an anonymous innkeeper to a traveler over 3 days, is one that will appeal to anyone interested in adventure, love, learning and magic!
Image
Annie - Charles Page Library
Annie
Charles Page Library
This is a sweet story of friendship that deepens into something more - perfect for fans of Check, Please! or Giant Days.
Image
Leah - Youth Services
Leah
Central Library
A young single mother living in Jamaica dreams of a life in the United States with her lifelong friend and former lover, Cicely. Leaving everything behind for these dreams, Patsy soon discovers that reality is nothing like what she imagined.
Image
Rebecca - Martin Regional Library
Rebecca
Martin Regional Library
A lovely, sparkly picture book featuring glitter and owls and foxes, starring an adorable little fairy girl with luna moth wings. Perfect for magical children who love to look at the moon.
Image
Tori - Glenpool Library
Tori
Glenpool Library
Really good psychological thriller. Soooo many twists and turns!
Image
Carol - Human Resources
Carol
Human Resources
Unfortunately, some promises can't be kept. However, this one is kinda hilarious. Or maybe not... If you read this one, you're in for a "gotcha" ending.
Image
Angela - Hardesty Regional Library
Angela
Central Library
Nothin' like southern hospitality with a side of gore...and more gore...and then a scene with a roach that I will NEVER forget.
Image
Angela - Hardesty Regional Library
Angela
Broken Arrow Library
A difficult, upsetting, and rewarding read, this true crime/memoir unfolds like an elaborate origami piece into new dimensions and shapes with each chapter.
Image
Leah - Youth Services
Leah
Central Library
Adorable slice-of-life graphic novel in which a werewolf and a vampire start dating. Despite their supernatural conditions, these characters are cute and relatable. Their love is so wholesome.
Image
Tori - Glenpool Library
Tori
Glenpool Library
Dear Justyce was a very emotional book, readers of Dear Martin will love it! Quan's story demonstrates how much young people need supportive adults in their life to just encourage them and believe in them.
Image
Julia - Central Library
Julia
Central Library
A wonderfully strange and spare novel about what it means to continue one's mundane, day-to-day existence with the knowledge that the planet is doomed. For those with a high threshold for dark humor and existential questions.
Image
Rebecca - Martin Regional Library
Rebecca
Martin Regional Library
I stumbled upon this looking through books read by Tim Curry and was delighted to find an awesome tough young female protagonist. Sabriel has magic and adventure, featuring whimsical and frightening creatures, set in an unfamiliar and chaotic world.
Image
Zoe - Central Library
Zoe
Central Library
This book is layered with allegory that makes it fun to study AND read. Philosophy, religion, history...the more time you spend delving into the hidden meanings, the more joy you will get from your experience reading this classic.
Image
Annie - Charles Page Library
Annie
Charles Page Library
What goes on in the demilitarized zone between North and South Korea? A lot! Follow activities through the seasons with this enchantingly illustrated and thought-provoking little story. Originally published in Korean. 2020 Batchelder Award (Honor Title)
Image
Dana - Brookside Library
Dana
Brookside Library
I loved Rachel Joyce's last book "The Music Shop" and have been waiting for this one to come out. I was not disappointed! With quirky, well-developed characters, Joyce's mismatched pair of female would-be adventurers is a delight from start to finish.
Image
Carissa - Hardesty Regional Library
Carissa
Jenks Library
What’s better than baby pandas? MORE baby pandas! A quality nonfiction book about caring for a bunch of these adorable babies!
Image
Tori - Glenpool Library
Tori
Glenpool Library
A contemporary fantasy in the vein of Neil Gaiman and Terry Prachet. A delightfully heartwarming tale about chosen families and the individual differences that strengthen a community.
Image
Becky - Hardesty Regional Library
Becky
Hardesty Regional Library
I know I'm not alone when I say that as a child, I was told I didn't understand often. This book reminded me that children understand more than they are given credit for.
Image
Angela - Hardesty Regional Library
Angela
Central Library
A Depression-era story about five women who become horseback librarians in rural Kentucky. Strong female characters in a story about relationships and forming friendships, with some drama and little romance, too. A Reese's Book Club pick.
Image
Tessa - Hardesty Regional Library
Tessa
Hardesty Regional Library
This book, with its engaging, colorful and realistically drawn characters will be a great introduction to discussion about the 1921 Race Massacre.
Image
Alicia - Rudisill Regional Library
Alicia
Rudisill Regional Library