Friends of the Library graphic

Friends of the Tulsa City-County Libraries

Friends of the Tulsa City-County Libraries was founded in 1957 and incorporated in 1968 as a nonprofit organization. Its purpose is to aid and promote the activities and goals of the Tulsa City-County Library system. The Friends organization fulfills its purpose through diverse programs and activities responsive to a wide range of needs and concerns. Friends membership is open to anyone who believes in supporting our library system.


Your Friends Membership in Action

  1. Your membership provides opportunities for yourself and other Tulsa County residents to participate in both fun and informative programs including Books Sandwiched In and the Adult Creative Writing Contest.

  2. Your membership provides staff with scholarships for continuing education and funds staff training days.

  3. Your membership allows us to advocate on behalf of libraries in our community and across the state.

  4. Your membership champions literacy through the First Book initiative that provides books to children from low-income families and through the library’s Summer Reading Program.

  5. Your membership says "thank you" to every library volunteer across Tulsa County by supporting the annual volunteer recognition banquet hosted by the Friends.

Join or Donate

Two ways to join or donate:

Give Online

Download a Form

About Us

Supported Programs and Events

Adult Creative Writing Contest | LEARN MORE
Books Sandwiched In | LEARN MORE
First Book | LEARN MORE
Great Decisions | LEARN MORE
Travels With Tulsans | LEARN MORE

Friends of the Tulsa City-County Libraries also supports the library's literacy program, volunteer program and staff scholarships.

2018-2019 Officers and Board

Sherry Leslie, President
Marian Sexton, 1st Vice President
Michael Nesser, 2nd Vice President
Norman Bryant, Treasurer
Laurie Brumbaugh, Assistant Treasurer
Dorothy Minor, Recording Secretary
Lynn Peacher, Corresponding Secretary
Debora Riggs Grillot, Past President

Laura Bottoms, Lynda Brownson, Courtney Cooper, Connie Cronley, Doris Degner-Foster, Rachel Ann Dennis, Eldon Eisenach, Catherine Gatchell, Donna Goodman, Gretchen Hannefield, Kathleen Kastelic, Hussien Khattab, Rita Kirk, Katy Livingston, Carolyn McClure, Brenda Michael-Haggard, Melanie Nelson, Elaine Olzawski, Mary Olzawski, Richard Parker, Alex Paschal, Diane Pennington, Glad Platner, Jan Reese, Virginia Richard, Karla Shahan, Travis Splawn, Sally Stewart, Mack Vanderlip, Julie Watson, Cecilia Whitehurst, Peggy Wolfe

Contact Us

Questions? Call 918.549.7419 or email tara.farrar@tulsalibrary.org.