Service Award Graphic

Marcus R. Tower Service Award

The Marcus R. Tower Service Award pays lasting tribute to the memory of Marcus R. Tower who devoted himself to the betterment of the Bank of Oklahoma, the library, and the Tulsa community.  The award recognizes and shows appreciation to the library’s volunteers and major donors.  The Marcus R. Tower Endowment, made possible by a contribution from the Bank of Oklahoma, will perpetually fund the Award and enhance the services and collections of the Tulsa City-County Library System.

Marcus R. Tower made a positive and enduring impact on the entire community through his volunteer service and leadership on the Tulsa City-County Library Commission and the Tulsa Library Trust.  He was appointed to the library’s governing board in 1981, chaired all committees during his tenure and was Chairman of the Library Commission for two years.  Simultaneously, he served on the Tulsa Library Trust board and was president for two years.  While on the Trust he helped create an endowment fund to benefit the library system.  His vision, high ethical standards and business judgment were invaluable to the library system’s development and achievement.

The award consists of an engraved crystal trophy for the recipient, and a gift of $1,500 from the Tulsa Library Trust made in honor of the recipient to support a library collection or service.

Award Recipients

  • Ken Bays (1997)
  • Yolanda and Harold Charney (2008)
  • Roger Coffey (2006)
  • Beverly Dieterlen (2014)
  • Peggye Enlow (2007)
  • Donna Farrior (2015)
  • Janie Funk (2013)
  • Ruth G. Hardman (2001)
  • Peggy V. Helmerich (2004)
  • Rod and Pinkie Jones (2010)
  • William C. Kellough (2012)
  • William and Carol Krueger (2005)
  • Robert J. LaFortune (2016)
  • Marty Laughlin (2003)
  • Jim McUsic (2011)
  • Bobbye Potter (2002)
  • Eleanor Rader (2000)
  • Stan Teter (2009)
  • Senator Penny Williams (1999)
  • Henry and Anne Zarrow, Judy Zarrow Kishner (1998)